Philip Morris Will Not Race Danville Toyota 300 at South Boston

By in Late Models | Tagged as: Late Models, South Boston Speedway, Philip Morris
Philip Morris Will Not Race Danville Toyota 300 at South Boston

The 2012 season opener at South Boston Speedway will have a different feel to it with the familiar orange and white colors of the No. 26 not making laps around the 0.4-mile oval.

Defending Whelen All-American Series national champion and SoBo track champion Philip Morris will not be competing in Saturday’s Danville Toyota 300, car owner Jim Dean told the Register & Bee on Friday morning prior to the day’s practice and qualifying sessions.
“A couple of developmental deals didn’t come through that we were expecting to help fund the financial side of Philip’s deal for him to run. We’re expecting for hopefully some sponsorship to come in at a later date. He’ll be back in a car,” Dean said. “It’s nothing to do with me and Philip.
It’s just a responsibility that Dean Motorsports has to these other developmental teams that we have to make sure the funding is there for them and what they’ve invested. Mutually, we’ve decided that we’re going to put Philip’s deal on hold until we get the funding through sponsorship.”
Dean, owner of Dean Motorsports, fields the No. 20 car for Darrell Gilchrist and the No. 83 for Matt Bowling. Both of those cars are fully funded and other deals to have drivers race under the Dean Motorsports banner fell through during the offseason, which stifled the funding expected to come through for the organization.
Morris, the all-time wins leader at SoBo (54), has won the past two Danville Toyota 300s and was a pre-race favorite to win the event a third straight time. The announcement also takes Morris out of contention to win the Virginia Late Model Triple Crown Series, which debuts with this race.

Car count at the end of the final practice session

5 -- Frank Deiny Jr.
34 -- Greg Edwards
97 -- Jesse Little
74 -- Ronald Hill
40 -- C.E. Falk III
12 -- Austin Thaxton
9 -- Bruce Anderson
83 -- Matt Bowling
99 -- Peyton Sellers
17 -- Dude Gibbs
10 -- Nick Smith
98 -- J.D. Eversole
12 -- Dennis Holdren
20 -- Darrell Gilchrist
80 -- Kris Bowen
31 -- Ryan Robertson
90 -- Terry Carroll
57 -- Eddie Johnson

Rate this article

Powered by Vivvo CMS v4.7